Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

The North Carolina Retirement Systems is a division of the Department of State Treasurer. The division administers the statutory retirement and benefit plans that cover more than 900,000 public employees in the state.  That means one in eight working North Carolinians is a member of the NC Retirement Systems.  

The four major retirement systems covered in this Division are
  • Teachers’ and State Employees’ Retirement System
  • Local Governmental Employees’ Retirement System
  • Consolidated Judicial Retirement System
  • Legislative Retirement System
In addition to the four major retirement systems administered though this Division, responsibility for administration of other programs covers the:
  • Firefighters' and Rescue Squad Workers’ Pension Fund
  • Disability Income Plan
  • National Guard Pension Fund
  • Supplemental Retirement Income Plan
  • Registers of Deeds’ Supplemental Pension Fund
Looking for Member Information?  

For information and resources for Active Government Employees, Government Benefit Recipients, and Government Employers, visit​.

 We’re Moving!

​To serve our members better, the N.C. Retirement Systems Division will be moving in phases this summer. Most personnel will be in place beginning mid- July at our new address: 3200 Atlantic Avenue, Raleigh, NC. If you have scheduled an appointment to meet with a Retirement Systems Division counselor, please call ahead to 877-NCSECURE (877-627-3287) to confirm the time, location and directions to your appointment.

 Recent Press