Local Government Commission

The Local Government Commission provides oversight and assistance to local governments and authorities in financial and debt management practices and to provide guidelines, oversight and approval of the issuance of debt for all local units. For more information, please see the fact sheet or view the Local Government Commission section.

The State Treasurer serves as Chair of the Local Government Commission, along with eight additional members. Those members are: the State Auditor, the Secretary of State, and the Secretary of Revenue serve ex officio; the remaining five members are appointed.  Of the appointed members, three are appointed by the Governor; one by the General Assembly upon recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and one by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House.  Of the members appointed by the Governor, one shall be, or have been, the mayor or member of the governing board of a city, and one shall be, or have been, a member of a county board of commissioners.  N.C.G.S. 159-3(a).
Winston-SalemNCCPA, Masters in AccountingState Treasurer
RaleighNCSecretary of State
RaleighNCSecretary of Revenue
ShelbyNCMaster of Divinity, BAReal Estate Broker/Former Mayor
RaleighNCCPANC State Auditor