Contact: Brad Young (919) 814-3820

melissa_waller_profile_photo_blue-web1000.jpgFOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 4, 2016

Deputy Treasurer Melissa Waller Named “Women in Business” Winner
Raleigh, N.C.—The Department of State Treasurer announced today that Melissa Waller, Deputy Treasurer and Chief of Staff, was named a “Women in Business” Award winner by the Triangle Business Journal. Waller, along with the other winners, was honored at a lunch in Raleigh on Monday.
The Women in Business Awards program recognizes Triangle women who have proven to be dynamic and outstanding leaders with established track records of significant accomplishments in business and/or community service.
As Chief of Staff, Waller helps oversee more than 400 employees and serves as chair of the Department's Corporate Governance Committee. In this capacity, she collaborates closely with the Department's Chief Investment Officer and General Counsel to develop an annual corporate governance strategy, set priorities, and represent the Department in its engagements with companies. Waller was recently elected to the Council of Institutional Investors Board of Directors and serves on the Board of Trustees for the National Institute of Public Finance.
Waller joined the Department in 2009. Prior to joining the Department, Waller was the Director of Web Strategies and Communications for the Business Technology division of Wachovia Mortgage Corporation (now a Wells Fargo Company), managing over 600 award-winning external and internal web domains for the Mortgage division and central communication and media strategies for the Business Technology Director and division.  Waller has a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism and Mass Communications from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
“This year’s class of female leaders represents a vast array of knowledge and influence that spans across the entire Triangle and beyond,” says Triangle Business Journal Publisher Jason Christie. "We are extremely excited to be able to honor these successful women."

View the full list of winners