NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER LOCAL GOVERNMENT COMMISSION MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING MARCH 23, 2022

The duly-noticed special meeting was called to order at 4:06 p.m. by Chair Dale R. Folwell on the above date. The special meeting was conducted in person and by use of simultaneous communication by GoToWebinar[™] due to the COVID 19 pandemic. Members present in person: Chair Folwell and State Auditor Beth Wood. Members present virtually: Secretary of Revenue Ronald Penny; Bill Toole, Designee for Secretary of State Elaine Marshall; John Burns; Paul Butler; Vida Harvey; and Mike Philbeck.

Members Absent: Ms. Nancy Hoffmann.

A quorum was present for the entire meeting.

Other participants present in person: Sharon Edmundson, Susan McCullen, Ben Garner, Debbie Tomasko, and Cindy Aiken.

Others attending in person: DST staff Victoria Bledsoe, Sam Watts, Alex Beroth, Riley Newman.

Chair Folwell asked those members present if they had any actual, potential, or the appearance of a conflict of interest regarding the matters on the agenda. There were no conflicts reported.

Auditor Wood made a motion to adopt the following resolution:

See Exhibit 1: Resolution Regarding Deputy Finance Officers and Account Signatories for the Town of Spring Lake

Mr. Butler seconded the motion, and the foregoing was adopted by unanimous vote of 8-0 (Absent: Hoffmann).

After the motion was approved, there was further discussion about Spring Lake matters. Chair Folwell recognized Auditor Wood, who provided additional details concerning the Town of Spring Lake's Response to the Office of State Auditor's (OSA) March 2022 Investigative Report and the OSA Response to the Town's Response. Sharon Edmundson reported that the LGC Staff received, just prior to this special meeting, a copy of a letter to the Mayor of Spring Lake from the Town Attorney notifying the Town of his law firm's termination of its legal services agreement. Auditor Wood asked questions about the LGC staff's progress in dealing with the logistics of signing Town checks and handling payroll after the Town dismissed the individual working as the Interim Town Manager. Susan McCullen answered the Auditor's questions and gave an update on the LGC staff's progress. Chair Folwell asked questions about the Town's legal files in possession of the Town Attorney and about invoices for legal fees. Ben Garner and Susan McCullen answered those questions.

Auditor Wood moved to adjourn the special meeting. Mr. Philbeck seconded the motion which passed by unanimous vote. The meeting adjourned at 4:31 p.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the North Carolina Local Government Commission will be held on April 5, 2022 at 1:30 p.m.

* * * * * * * * * *

I, Sharon Edmundson, Secretary of the North Carolina Local Government Commission, CERTIFY that the foregoing is a true and correct account of actions taken at a special meeting of the North Carolina Local Government Commission duly called and held on March 23, 2022.

WITNESS my hand at Raleigh, this 23rd day of March 2022.

Sharon Edmundson, Secretary of the Local Government Commission of North Carolina

Tharon Elmundson





SHARON EDMUNDSON
DEPUTY TREASURER

STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE DIVISION AND THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT COMMISSION

RESOLUTION REGARDING DEPUTY FINANCE OFFICERS AND ACCOUNT SIGNATORIES FOR THE TOWN OF SPRING LAKE

WHEREAS the Local Government Commission (the Commission) impounded the books and assumed full control of all financial affairs of the Town of Spring Lake (the "Town") pursuant to Section 159-181(c) of the North Carolina General Statutes (N.C.G.S.) and,

WHEREAS the Commission desires to modify the appointments and/or designations of deputy finance officers and account signatories,

NOW THEREFORE, the Commission

- 1) Retains David Erwin as Finance Officer pursuant to N.C.G.S 159-24 and the Commission resolution adopted November 2, 2021; and
- 2) Discharges Samantha Wullenwaber as Deputy Finance Officer and appoints Tiffany Anderson and Susan McCullen as Deputy Finance Officers; and
- 3) Retains David Erwin as Account Signatory; designates Tiffany Anderson and Susan McCullen as Account Signatories; and discharges Samantha Wullenwaber, former Mayor Larry Dobbins, and former Mayor Pro Tem Taimoor Aziz as Account Signatories; and
- 4) Retains the designation of Truist Bank as the Town's official depository.

I, Sharon G. Edmundson, Secretary of the North Carolina Local Government Commission, DO HEREBY CERTIFY that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the resolution adopted by the North Carolina Local Government Commission at its meeting held on March 23, 2022.

WITNESS my hand this 23rd day of March, 2022.

Sharon G. Edmundson, Secretary

North Carolina Local Government Commission