For all holders, except life insurance, November 1st is the due date for all unclaimed property that has reached its dormancy holding period as of the prior June 30th. Life insurance companies’ filing deadline is May 1st as of the prior December 31st. Property is defined as “unclaimed” if the rightful power cannot be found.
Less than fifty properties
When reporting less than 50 property owner records, the report can be filed electronically or in paper form. Reporting forms and further instructions are available on the website under Forms and Guides
Fifty properties or more
Holders reporting 50 or more property owner records must file their report in the NC Electronic File Format
prescribed by the Treasurer. The North Carolina format is a modified NAUPA format. Additional reporting instructions are available on the website under Forms and Guides
Free electronic reporting software can be downloaded at http://www.wagers.net/hrs/index.php
. Reports not in the specified format may be rejected and returned to the holder. To assist with loading and balancing reports, holders must send 1) an encrypted file and 2) a PDF of owner detail or paper a copy of owner detail. The PDF is not the same as the encrypted file.
ACH and Wire Transfers
Negative reports are not
required. If you elect to file a negative report, an ASD-NEG (Negative Report of Unclaimed Property) must be completed. Negative reports cannot be filed using any other form or by letter. An ASD-NEG
may be obtained at Forms and Guides
SPECIAL REPORTING INSTRUCTIONS
Property Due Other States
In most cases unclaimed property is reported to the state of the last known address of the owner (entitled state). While North Carolina has reciprocal and exchange agreements with various states, holders are encouraged to ONLY
report to North Carolina those properties for which it is entitled or incidental property. Additional information concerning Property Due Other States is available at Forms and Guides
Due to law changes, any property of owners with a last known address in California must be reported directly to California regardless of the number of names or value.
Holder unable to submit their report by the scheduled due date may request an extension in accordance with NCGS 116B-60(e). Such request may be granted for good cause. For complete instructions for requesting an extension, please see Extension Request
under Forms and Guides
Names, addresses, social security or tax identification numbers, dates of birth, driver license numbers, and e-mail addresses of the owners must be included on the report form, if known by the holder. For reports filed July 16, 2012 and forward, NCGS 116B-73 requires that you maintain records containing the information required to be included in the report for 5 years after you file the report. NOTE: Record retention for reports filed before July 16, 2012 remains at 10 years.
First Time and Delinquent Filers
For those holders in possession of unclaimed property past the prescribed dormancy period, in most cases, North Carolina is able to accept such delinquent property, waiving any penalties and interest. Visit the terms and conditions of North Carolina’s Voluntary Disclosure Agreement
(VDA) for more information.